Workshop Conducting Gregorian Chant

 

How can one conduct Gregorian chant? This remains a stumbling block for numerous conductors and singers.

There are important differences between conducting measured and non-measured music.

The problem is primarily caused by the rhythm. Gregorian chant starts from a completely different starting point. The support offered by measurement types and the fixed metrical subdivisions and the movement linked to them cannot be used here. Text expression and the relation between text and melody are crucial. One conducts prose which is sung in the framework of a melody, so to speak, taking the neumes notation and the meaning of the text into account.

There are various approaches which have developed in the course of the years.

The aim of this workshop is offering some principles of Gregorian chant conducting techniques and together assessing their value. How can a platform be created enabling an ideal communication between the conductor and the singers?

This workshop does not aim at conductors only. Also singers can be fascinated by getting acquainted with the precision of conducting practice.

This workshop will be led by DAVID EBEN from Czechia, musicologist, eminent conductor and compelling teacher. His Gregorian chant curriculum is multisided. He spent quite some time at Solesmes, conducted the Choeur Grégorien de Paris for several years, is the conductor of the Schola Gregoriana Pragensis, was professor Gregorian chant at Luzern University and is now working at the Charles University at Prague.

He is often invited as a lecturer at numerous summer courses.

ATELIER “DIRIGER LE GRÉGORIEN”

Comment faut-il diriger le chant grégorien ? Pour beaucoup de musiciens, il s’agit d’un sujet difficile. Il existe de nombreuses différences entre les manières de diriger le répertoire mesuré et le répertoire non mesuré. Le problème se situe principalement au niveau du rythme. Pour le grégorien, le point de départ est très différent car on n’y trouve pas différentes sortes de mesures, ni de divisions métriques avec les battements qui y sont liés. La signification du texte et la relation entre le texte et la musique y sont particulièrement importants. C’est une prose chantée qu’il s’agit de diriger conformément aux notations neumatiques et en tenant compte de la signification du texte.

Plusieurs pistes de réflexion se sont dévelopées au cours des dernières années. Le but de cet atelier est d’offrir quelques principes de direction du chant grégorien et de les exercer ensemble. Comment créer une plateforme où la communication musicale entre le chef de choeur et les chanteurs peut-elle se dérouler de manière optimale ?

Cet atelier n’est pas seulement destiné aux chefs de choeur. Pour les chanteurs également, se familiariser avec la précision de la direction peut être particulièrement fascinant.

Cet atelier sera animé par DAVID EBEN de la République Tchèque, musicologue, éminent chef de choeur et enseignant passionant. Son curiculum est très riche. Il a effectué de nombreux séjours à Solesmes et dirigé pendant plusieurs années le Choeur grégorien de Paris. Il est actuellement directeur de la Schola Gregoriana Pragensis et anciennement professeur de chant grégorien à l’Université de Lucerne . Il enseigne maintenant à l’Université Charles de Prague. Il est très souvent sollicité pour l’animation de cours d’été dans de nombreux pays.